Green Chile Chicken Enchiladas

Are you tired of green chile recipes yet?  No.  Good.  I don’t make enchiladas at home very often.  Honestly, there are a half dozen different restaurants within a 5 mile radius of my home that make them.  My kitchen stays a lot cleaner when I just let someone else do it.  But during chile season (also known as that time of year when you don’t want to light the heater yet so you use the oven to heat the house), I always make at least one pan of my own.  Everybody around here has their own recipe.  Everyone would die defending that they do it the right way and everyone else is wrong.  My recipe is my mother’s.  Or at least close to hers.  I may have taken some liberties with it here and there.  What I do know is that most people who use browned flour to thicken their chile sauce make a roux and cook it until it is brown.  My mom was conscious of the amount of oil she used in her cooking and we actually brown the flour in a dry pan.  All my friends think this is really weird.  Especially since I’m going to then use it with copious amounts of cheese, but hey, save those calories where you can, right? This recipe makes extra chlile sauce.  You can make more enchiladas, or you can save the sauce in the freezer for later.  I’ll show you how to turn it into green chile stew in a future More Than Microwaving post.

Start out by browning your flour.   Cook it over medium high to high heat until it is the color of peanut butter.  You must stir this constantly once it starts to brown and almost constantly before that or you will burn your flour.  You must also do this is a heavy bottomed pan.  If you do this in a pan with a thin bottom, you’ll end up warping it, and nobody likes a pan with a warped bottom (except maybe my mom, who did this in a warped pan until my dad threw it away without telling her).  I usually add my cumin in with my flour while I’m browning it.  I like the way it makes the cumin taste even more smoky and roasted.

DSCN1069

Next, whisk in your broth (or stock).  Be careful.  This is going to steam A LOT.  I usually wear a glove of some kind while I’m doing this just to keep my hand protected.  You must whisk continuously while you add the broth or you will get flour lumps in your sauce.  And flour lumps do not taste good.  You should end up with a light brown sauce about the consistency of gravy.

DSCN1072

Add your chile and spices to this sauce and let it simmer together and get happy while you roll the enchiladas.  Start by lightly frying your corn tortillas in hot oil.  This is just to heat them up and make them pliable.  A few seconds on each side is all it takes.  I literally put the tortilla in, grab the tongs, flip it, count to two and pull it out.  Place them on paper towels (or another absorbent surface) while you fry the rest. They should look something like this.

DSCN1073

Put a line of shredded chicken and cheese down the center of each tortilla and roll.  It takes a while to figure out what the just right amount is for you.  I use about 1/4 cup of chicken and about a tablespoon of cheese. If you overfill them, they’ll be hard to roll.  Use your best judgment.

DSCN1075

Roll enchiladas and place them in a pan.  I made 12 enchiladas and packed them into a large loaf pan. You could certainly make more and use a bigger pan.

DSCN1076

Top this with a generous amount of your chile sauce and cheese.  Bake at 350* for 20-30 minutes.  Cheese will be melted and sauce will be bubbly.

DSCN1080

Serve with a little extra sauce over the top.

DSCN1085

Recipe:

2 cups flour

1 teaspoon cumin

6-8 cups chicken broth

1 1/2 cups diced green chile (or more)

3 cloves garlic, grated

1/2 onion, diced

salt and pepper to taste

Oil for frying

12 corn tortillas

3 cups shredded chicken

1 1/2  cups shredded cheese

Place a heavy stock pot over medium high to high heat.  Add flour and cumin.  Cook, stirring constantly, until flour is brown.  Remove from heat and whisk in 6 cups of broth (careful of the steam).  Add more broth if necessary to achieve a gravy-like consistency.  Add chile, garlic, onion and salt and pepper.  Simmer over low heat while you roll the enchiladas. Taste for seasoning again before you use.

Preheat oven to 350*.  Heat a thin layer of oil in a skillet.  Fry tortillas one at a time just until soft and pliable (2-3 seconds per side).  Drain.

Cover the bottom of a baking dish with a thin layer of chile sauce.  Place 1/4 cup chicken and 1 Tablespoon cheese in a line down the center of tortilla. Roll and place in baking dish.  Repeat with remaining tortillas.  Cover with chile sauce and cheese.  Bake at 350* for 20-30 minutes or until sauce is bubbly and cheese is melted.  Serve with extra chile sauce.

One response

  1. […] when we made Green Chile Chicken Enchiladas and I told you to freeze that extra sauce? Well, this recipe is why.  It is perfect for a rainy […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

