Guiltless Banana Cream “Pie”

I don’t do health food.  I do food that tastes good, uses quality ingredients, and pleases and nurtures my family. A year ago, that food looked a lot different than it does today.  My doctor and I got together and he was genuinely worried about my weight.  I’ve lost around 50 pounds since then with his help and a combination of things.  One of those was drastically cutting back the number of simple sugars and processed grains I ate.  Which ruined my bowl of cereal and made dessert an actual ‘treat’ instead of a daily requirement.  I struggled for a long time.  I felt like I was being punished.  I would literally break into hysterical sobs if my family mentioned they didn’t really like what I had cooked.  Little by little, I started finding foods that satisfied me and still fit into the whole grain, lower glycemic index diet I was supposed to be eating.  And, a LOT of them actually tasted good!

This is one of those that I discovered just a few weeks ago.  One of the biggest changes for me was breakfast.  I love a BIG bowl of cereal with ice cold milk.  Cutting this from my eating hurt me in two ways – I no longer knew what to have for breakfast and my calcium intake tanked (I don’t like milk alone).  After a long battle about not wanting to drink my calories, I tried a smoothie and was hooked.  Then, my blender broke.  It  a moment of desperation, I mashed a banana with a fork, stirred in my yogurt, flax and almond milk and threw it in the fridge to get nice and cold.  The next morning, I grabbed my glass and walked out the door to take my daughter to school.  I took a long drink, not sure what to expect, and I was hooked.  Who needs cereal when you can have dessert for breakfast for less than 300 calories.  A quick dietary rundown for those who are interested: 247.5 calories, 23.75 from fat; 7g fat, 0g saturated fat; 479 mg Potassium; 31g carbs, 8.25 fiber, 14 sugar, 18g protein, 52% calcium.  Seriously! And half those sugars are natural from the banana.  Lately, I’ve taken to mixing this up and tossing it in the freezer for a couple of hours.  Yup, that’s right.  Ice cream for breakfast and I don’t have to feel bad about eating it. Here’s what it looks like scooped into my bowl (this is half of the recipe, so half the nutritional values I listed).

DSCN1209

Recipe:

1/2 very ripe banana, mashed

1 – 5.3 ounce greek yogurt (I use Dannon Light and Fit Toasted Coconut Vanilla)

3 Tablespoons flax meal

3/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk

Stir all ingredients together until completely mixed.  To serve chilled, refrigerate a couple of hours or overnight.  To serve frozen, freeze in a bowl or other container for 3 hours.  Stir every hour to keep a soft consistency being sure to scrape sides of container.

Leave a Reply

