Jalapeno Cheese Spaghetti Squash Pancakes

Since my doctor and I changed my diet about a year ago, one of the things I miss the most is white potatoes.  Mashed potatoes, fried potatoes, potatoes in my soups, baked potatoes, potato pancakes, hash browns.  You get the idea.  I still have them sometimes, but there used to be a potato on the plate 5/7 nights at my house.  Not anymore.  The good news is, it has led me to try and enjoy lots of different foods.  One of those is spaghetti squash.  Now, I can’t get behind using it as spaghetti.  I know a lot of people do, but the texture just doesn’t work for me.  These pancakes, however, remind me of potato pancakes.  They have a similar mouth feel, are loaded with flavor and don’t leave you feeling as weighted down as potatoes do.

Start by “roasting” your spaghetti squash.There is a time and a place for oven roasting squashes of all kinds.  It just isn’t necessary for this recipe.  I found a shortcut on the web somewhere and it is how I do spaghetti squash almost every time.  Carefully cut your squash in half lengthwise.  Scoop out the seeds.  Fill the cavity in one half with water and then put the other half back on top (so it looks like a whole squash again).  Place this in a microwave safe dish and microwave on high for about 10 minutes (or until the squash is tender). The flesh should pull away from the skin in strings when you drag a fork across it.

DSCN1087

Remove the seeds and ribs from a jalapeno and finely dice it.  I used half a jalapeno.  The peppers I can find around here are HUGE and, since I was feeding these to my kids, I wanted to keep the heat level down.  Feel free to adjust this to your taste. The paring knife is in the picture for a size comparison.

DSCN1089

Stir together the squash, jalapeno, cheese, egg, flour, salt and pepper.  Drop by spoonfuls into a hot non-stick pan with oil.

DSCN1095

Cook until golden brown and flip.  If you’re watching your dairy intake, you can certainly leave the cheese out of these and they still turn out wonderful.

DSCN1103

Recipe:

1 Tablespoon oil

3 cups cooked spaghetti squash

1 jalapeno

1/2 cup shredded cheese

2 eggs

1/4 cup flour

salt and pepper

Heat oil in a non-stick skillet over medium heat.

Remove the ribs and seeds from jalapeno.  Dice finely.

Stir together spaghetti squash, jalapeno, cheese, eggs and flour.  Season with salt and pepper.

Drop mixture by spoonfuls into hot oil.  Cook for 2-3 minutes per side or until golden brown.  Serve warm.

Leave a Reply

