Pumpkin Pops

What I’m about to say to you will come as no surprise to my friends and family.  I LOVE pumpkin.  Pumpkin pie, pumpkin pasta, pumpkin soup, pumpkin pudding, pumpkin bread, pumpkin ice cream, pumpkin spice latte (ok, so that last one isn’t really pumpkin, but I like it all the same).  I’m always excited when fall comes around because suddenly it is ok to over-indulge in my pumpkin love.  No one thinks I’m crazy for putting pumpkin in almost anything.  My big weakness is a certain pumpkin pie ice cream confection from a nationally recognized member of dairy royalty.  And the fact that it only comes out once a year just kills me.  Plus, the calorie and sugar counts kill my waistline.  That is why I developed these pumpkin pops.  They satisfy that pumpkin dessert craving without destroying the health benefits of pumpkin by adding a bunch of cream and sugar.

I didn’t take pictures of the process, but it isn’t that hard.  I throw all the ingredients in a blender and whiz it up until it is completely smooth.  Since all of the ingredients are smooth to start with, this doesn’t take long.  Then, I pour it into my popsicle molds.  If you don’t have a popsicle mold (you really should get one) you can always use paper cups and popsicle sticks or and ice cube tray and toothpicks or just freeze it in a bowl and eat it with a spoon (though you’ll have to let this last one stand at room temperature for a bit to soften some). These take a while to freeze, so I’d make them early in the day or even the night before. Run a little warm water over the outside of your mold to help the pops release and enjoy all the flavor with almost none of the guilt. (Oh, and those missing pops, those are the ones I gave to my boys.  If they see these, they won’t leave me alone until they have one).

DSCN1581

Recipe:

1 can pumpkin puree

1 5.3 ounce container vanilla Greek yogurt

3/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk

1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice

2 teaspoons real maple syrup.

Place all ingredients in blender.  Blend until mixed well and completely smooth.  Pour into popsicle molds.  Freeze at least 4 hours.

One response

  1. […] Start by roasting the pumpkin.  Halve it.  Scoop out the seeds.  Rub it with oil.  Place it cut side down on a cookie sheet and bake at 350* for 45 minutes or an hour until it is just tender. Let it cool and then score the flesh with a knife without removing the peel (much like you’d do with an avocado).  You’ll need 2 cups of these cubes for this recipe.  Save the rest for pie or use it to make some pumpkin pops. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

