Gingerbread French Toast

I know it is late, but I couldn’t let today pass without sharing this breakfast recipe.  I’ve cooked it as a casserole twice this week and come home with an empty pan both times.  I can’t take all the credit though.  A few days ago, a friend of mine asked me if I could come up with a recipe for gingerbread French toast.  She had visited a national diner chain and ordered it from their holiday menu.  Somehow, they manages to serve her DRY French toast.  How does that happen? I mean, it’s bread soaked in custard! I thought about making some gingerbread and then just using it to make French toast, but honestly, I’m never going to do that in real life.  I don’t like to share recipes with you that I don’t use because they’re just too darn impractical (well, except for my caramel apple cinnamon rolls, and they are TOTALLY worth it).I decided it would be way simpler to put the flavors of gingerbread into the egg custard.  I pulled out all those classic gingerbread flavors and started mixing them into the eggs and milk.  I dipped some bread and threw it on the griddle and what came out was honestly delectable.  That bread was completely transformed.  My kids asked for seconds (and thirds).  The baby calls it cake.  Hopefully, you’ll just call it a breakfast staple.  Oh, and if you want to make it for a crowd, just triple the recipe, cut your bread in chunks, put it all in a greased 13×9 pan in the fridge overnight and bake it at 350* for 25 minutes (put some chunks of butter on the top in the last 10 minutes for extra goodness).

Start by whisking together an egg, milk, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, clove, vanilla, molasses and brown sugar.  You’re going to realize right away that this smells just like fresh gingerbread.  It also will be nice and brown already.

DSCN1572

Dip your bread slices.  I used some leftover whole wheat bread this time, but I’ve also used honey oat bread and whole grain bread.  All of them taste absolutely delicious.  Use whatever sandwich bread you keep on hand. Make sure you let it soak up a decent amount of the egg mixture.

DSCN1573

Place soaked bread slices on a buttered griddle heated to 250*.  There’s enough sugar in the egg mixture that you don’t want to cook it too hot or the outside will burn before the custard sets.

DSCN1574

When both sides are golden brown, transfer from griddle to plate.  Top with butter and powdered sugar and dig in.  I serve this without syrup, but you finish it any way you want (fresh whipped cream would be delicious).

DSCN1577

Oh, and if you decide to make it as a casserole, it will smell like heaven and look something like this.

DSCN1597

Recipe:

1 egg

1/2 cup milk

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon ginger

dash nutmeg

dash clove

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1 Tablespoon molasses

1 Tablespoon brown sugar

4-5 slices of bread

Heat a griddle to 250*

Whisk together egg, milk, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, clove, vanilla, molasses and brown sugar until completely mixed.

Butter warm griddle.

Dip both sides of each slice of bread in egg mixture and place on buttered griddle.  Cook for 3-4 minutes per side until golden brown and set.  Serve warm with butter and powdered sugar.

Leave a Reply

