Sesame Chicken

About a year ago, my doctor suggested a drastic diet change.  It included severely limiting foods with a high glycemic index – like corn products and white flour and refined sugar.  I started looking at my diet and panicked.  Every single meal I made had at least one of these now restricted items.  Also, it is hard to eat out and miss those items.  My daughter especially loves Chinese food.  She calls it eggy soup.  None of the Chinese places around here have a brown rice option and I just don’t have the willpower to not eat fried rice if it is on the table.  That’s a problem.  That problem is only complicated by the fact that one of the only Chinese dishes I will eat (and certainly my favorite dish) is sesame chicken.  These chunks of chicken come out fried crispy in a batter that I guarantee has both cornstarch and flour.  Those crispy bites are doused in a super sweet sauce that I bet is more sugar than honey and is thickened with cornstarch.  I just know it.  So, I had to come up with a substitute.  There is still a good bit of honey in this, and I serve it over brown rice loaded with veggies, but it is definitely better than the restaurant version as far as cutting refined carbs and it tastes really good too.

Start by mixing up you honey, sesame oil, soy sauce, vinegar, ginger and garlic.  You can add some chile flake if you like a little heat, but I don’t right now because my kids prefer it without. Cube up your chicken into bite size pieces and stir it into the marinade.  Let it sit for 30 minutes or so.

DSCN1514

Heat up some oil in a heavy skillet.  Carefully add the chicken and the marinade.

DSCN1515

Cook over high heat until chicken is cooked through and sauce is thickened to a glaze.  Sprinkle with toasted sesame seeds and serve over veggie fried rice (the one in the picture has asparagus and almonds).

DSCN1517

Recipe:

1/2 cup honey

1 teaspoon sesame oil

1 Tablespoon soy sauce

1 Tablespoon vinegar

1/2″ fresh ginger, grated

2 cloves garlic, grated

1 pound chicken, cubed

1 Tablespoon oil

1 Tablespoon toasted sesame seeds

Mix together honey, sesame oil, soy sauce, vinegar, ginger and garlic.  Stir in cubed chicken and let marinate for 30 minutes.

Heat oil over high heat in a heavy skillet.  Carefully add chicken and marinade to skillet. Cook, stirring frequently, until chicken is cooked through and sauce is thick (about 10 minutes).

Sprinkle with toasted sesame seeds and serve with fried rice.

Leave a Reply

