Chocolate Ice Cream

I always looked forward to the few times each year when my mom would break out the ice cream maker.  There is something so delicious about home made ice cream.  She usually made vanilla, but would occasionally branch out and make strawberry or peach.  I never remember her making chocolate ice cream though.  Come to think of it, I’m not sure I’ve ever seen her eat chocolate ice cream.  Maybe, like me, she doesn’t really like it – unless it’s a Frosty at Wendy’s.  I’m all about one of those.  Especially if I’ve got some French fries to dip in it.  My friends though, they’re a different story.  Several of them really like my home made vanilla, but they are always pestering me to make chocolate ice cream.  I have resisted because I just don’t like it.  Then, it happened.  I got asked to make dessert for a friend’s birthday.  A friend who LOVES chocolate ice cream.  I decided it was time.  I thought about it and read about it.  I knew I didn’t want to get all the chocolate flavor from cocoa powder.  I know that is why I don’t really like most chocolate ice cream.  So, a little time and experimentation later, this recipe was born.  I knew I had it just right when my husband tasted it and said “that tastes just like a Wendy’s frosty”.  I was so involved in getting things just right that I only got one picture and it is not of the finished product.  It is important to the process though, so there’s that.  I promise it is creamy and chocolaty and delicious.

As a note, this is not a custard and it does contain raw eggs. If you aren’t comfortable with that, I understand.  I can’t tell you with confidence how to adapt this recipe to a cooked custard recipe because I’ve just never done that.

Start by heating a pint of heavy cream.  Don’t boil it, but heat it to almost boiling.  Then add a cup of milk chocolate chips and stir until all the chocolate is melted. Set that mixture aside and let it cool.

In your mixer bowl, stir together sugar and cocoa powder.  Then, add eggs.  Use the whisk attachment to beat together eggs, sugar and cocoa until it is thick, lighter in color, and the volume has increased.  It should fall off the whisk in streams and not be reincorporated into the mix immediately.

DSCN1531

At this point, mix in the half and half and vanilla.  Then stir in the cream and chocolate mixture.  Pour this into your ice cream maker and freeze according to manufacturers instructions.

Recipe:

2 cups heavy whipping cream

1 cup milk chocolate chips

2 cups sugar

1/2 cup cocoa powder

4 eggs

1 quart half and half

1 teaspoon vanilla

Heat heavy cream until almost boiling.  Remove from heat and add milk chocolate chips.  Stir until chocolate is completely melted and set aside to cool.

In a mixer bowl, stir together sugar and cocoa powder.  Add eggs and whip until thickened, lightened in color and increased in volume. Add half and half and vanilla.  Then stir in whipped cream/chocolate mixture.

Freeze in an ice cream freezer according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

Leave a Reply

