Chicken and Noodles

These months in the winter tend to be cold and dreary.  For me, they are filled with fabulous comfort foods and the various memories attached to them.  Making chicken and noodles taps into a very early memory for me.  For as long as I can remember, my mother and I have cooked together.  For some reason, one of the most vivid memories I have of cooking with her is making home made noodles.  I’m guessing they were for noodles and butter glace, but I could be wrong.  I remember rolling the dough thing and separating the individual strips of dough.  I don’t make noodles and butter glace now.  Turns out, I don’t really like it.  I do like chicken and noodles though.  Which brings another fond memory.

I went away from home for college.  I had family reasonable close, but I made friends who had family closer.  We would all load up and head to some family member’s house for a weekend trip just because we could.  We frequented Kayla’s parent’s house.  And, on occasion, we’d make the short drive across town to visit her grandma – especially if we found out she was making chicken and noodles.  I don’t ever remember eating this dish growing up, but I do remember eating it in college. And it always brings a smile to my face now.  This recipe is not Kayla’s grandmother’s.  I wish it was.  But, it is hearty and comforting and sure to warm up any cool day.  If you don’t want to make your own noodles, grab a package of egg noodles from your grocery’s freezer section.  They’re a much closer approximation of home made than the dried variety.

Start with the noodles.  Stir together flour and salt.  Make a well and put eggs and milk in the well.

DSCN1617

Stir together until all the flour is incorporated.  You are probably going to have to get your hands dirty.  Try not to work it too much though.  The less you work the dough, the more tender your noodles will be.

DSCN1618

Transfer dough onto a floured surface and roll until very thin.  1/16-1/8″.  Then, cut into noodles that are about 3″x1/4″

DSCN1619 DSCN1620

Toss noodles with a little flour and let cure for about 2 hours.

DSCN1621

Put chicken and good quality stock in a soup pot and bring to a rapid boil. If your stock isn’t really flavorful, you may want to pump it up a bit.  I find that adding a little lemon juice really lightens up the flavor of this otherwise really heavy dish. Make sure your stock is really boiling before you add your noodles.  Sprinkle them in by handfuls so they separate.

DSCN1623

After you add the noodles, turn heat down to a simmer.  Simmer, stirring frequently, for 20-30 minutes or until the noodles are tender and the broth is thick and creamy.

DSCN1624

Recipe:

2 cups flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 eggs

4-5 Tablespoons milk

4 cups chicken stock

3-4 cups cooked, cubed chicken

Stir together flour and salt.  Make a well in the center.  Add eggs and milk to the well. Mix just until all flour is incorporated.

Turn dough onto floured surface.  Roll to 1/16″-1/8″ thickness.  Use a sharp knife to cut dough into noodles that are about 3″x1/4″.  Toss noodles with a little flour and set aside to cure for about 2 hours.

Add stock and cubed chicken to a large soup pot.  Bring to rapid boil.  Sprinkle noodles into rapidly boiling stock.  Stir.

Reduce heat to a simmer.  Simmer, stirring frequently, for 20-30 minutes or until noodles are tender and stock is thickened and creamy.

Leave a Reply

