Apple Chutney

Pork and apples is such a classic pairing.  It would be so easy to just throw some applesauce on the table on pork chop nights.  The problem with that? I HATE applesauce.  I’m not sure why, really.  I just do.  But who knows, I I liked applesauce, I may have never started making this fantastic apple chutney to serve with my pork chops.  And then I would really be missing out.

Dice up one apple and put it in a small saute pan with butter.  Cook until the apple starts to soften.  The color will change slightly.

DSCN1691

Then, carefully add in the secret ingredient – honey whiskey.  And the vinegar and spices.  Cook until most of the liquid has evaporated and apples are soft.

DSCN1692

Stir in a second diced apple.  You’re not going to cook this one.  The texture contrast is part of what makes this so special.

DSCN1694

I like to serve this with pork (or chicken) and a green veggie.  My kids are partial to broccoli, but really any green would work.  The slight bitterness is a nice contrast to the sweet apples. Also, the recipe calls for cinnamon and ginger, but you could spice these any way you like.  I find a little cayenne is fantastic.

DSCN1695

Recipe:

2 apples, cored and diced

1 Tablespoon butter

1 ounce honey whiskey

1 teaspoon vinegar

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon ginger

1/8 teaspoon salt

1/8 teaspoon pepper

Add butter and half of diced apple to a small saute pan and cook over medium heat until apples just start to get tender.  Carefully add whiskey, vinegar and spices.  Continue cooking until apples are soft and almost all liquid has evaporated.

Remove from heat and stir in the remaining apple.

 

Leave a Reply

