Whole Wheat and Oatmeal Blueberry Muffins

On Friday evening, I did something I have never done.  I drove into town and then into the parking lot of a local middle school.  I carried an empty plastic tote with me as I walked through the cold and into the cafeteria.  I was greeted at the door by a woman with a smile and a clipboard.  She checked my name and confirmation code and directed me to a table.  It was at that moment where I met my new love.  The excitement I experienced in the next few minutes was barely containable.  Carefully, I loaded potatoes, rainbow chard, orange peppers, romaine lettuce, broccoli, strawberries, oranges, pineapple, grapefruit, red pears and blueberries into my empty tote and walked back to my car – all while repeating to myself, “all this for $15.00!?!?”.  I had just picked up my first Bountiful Basket and I couldn’t wait to get home and start cooking with all this wonderful food.  I’ve planned my menu the next two weeks around the items in my basket, but I couldn’t wait to go grocery shopping to start cooking.  First thing Saturday morning I pulled out those blueberries and stirred up some muffins.  These aren’t just any old muffins either.  They’re packed full of whole grains and protein.

The method is so simple I didn’t even take pictures.  I did take one pre-baking picture just to show off these plump, juicy blueberries.

DSCN1771

These bake up a little dense, but they are tasty and filling.  The bread itself is not very sweet, so if your blueberries aren’t nice and sweet, you may want to add some extra honey to the batter. My kids ate two of these each and then had a third for a snack later.  I didn’t dare tell them how healthy they are.

muffin

Recipe:

2 cups whole wheat flour

1 cup oatmeal

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 eggs

1/4 cup melted butter or oil

1 Tablespoon honey

1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk or any milk

1 5.3 ounce container low fat greek yogurt

1 cup blueberries

Preheat oven to 325*.  Grease muffin tin or line with baking cups.

In a medium sized mixing bowl, stir together flour, oatmeal, baking soda, baking powder and salt.  In a separate bowl, stir together eggs, melted butter, honey, almond milk and yogurt.  Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and stir just until mixed.  Carefully fold in blueberries.

Scoop batter into prepared tins.  This should make 12 muffins.

Bake at 325* for 15-20 minutes.

Leave a Reply

