Chocolate Chip Cookies

Cookies are my weakness.  I could eat this entire batch alone – that is IF they even made it to the oven before I ate all the dough.  I try to only make them if I am planning to take them somewhere.  That is about the only way I can avoid temptation.  This recipe yields a cookie that is crispy around the edges and chewy in the middle.  If you’re looking for a tall, soft cookie, this is NOT it.  It’s a matter of preference, really, and I just prefer these.

Creaming the butter and the sugar is really important in a good cookie.  I whip my butter until it is light and fluffy before I even add any sugar.

DSCN1751

After you add the sugar, be sure you let it go until it is light and fluffy again.  Then add the vanilla and one egg at a time and beat until they are completely incorporated.  Add your dry ingredients and as soon as the dough comes together add your chocolate chips.  I don’t stir mine in by hand.  Sure the paddle on my mixer breaks a few of them up, but not that many.  And, really, they’re going to melt when they bake anyway.  This recipe has a little chile powder in the mix.  Don’t be afraid.  It isn’t enough to make your cookies spicy, but it adds depth of flavor.  I rarely make chocolate chip cookies without it anymore. Scoop the dough onto your cookie sheets and bake.

DSCN1753

I baked half of this recipe on my countertop rotating oven and half in the conventional oven.  Here’s a halfway shot from the cookies baking on the countertop oven.

DSCN1754

After the cookies cooled, I put them all on one plate.  The countertop oven is on the left, the conventional oven is on the right.  If you only want to bake a few cookies, the countertop oven is definitely a time saver, but for a whole batch it just isn’t practical.  Of course, they do look prettier, so there’s that to consider.

DSCN1755

Recipe:

2 sticks room temperature unsalted butter

1 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup granulated sugar

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

2 1/4 cup flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon red chile powder

2 cups dark chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350*

Beat butter until it is fluffy and light in color.  Cream butter with sugars.  Add vanilla and one egg at a time.  Beat until each egg is completely incorporated and scrape down sides of bowl between eggs.  With mixer on its lowest setting, add flour, baking soda, salt and chile powder.  When those are just incorporated, add chocolate chips and stir through (seriously I count to 3 or 4 is all).

Drop cookies by spoonful onto ungreased cookie sheets leaving 1″ between cookies.  Bake at 350* or 8-10 minutes.

One response

  1. Oh wow they look so delicious! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

