Oatmeal Pancakes

The other day, I  had some egg whites leftover.  I was searching the lovely internet for ideas on how to use them.  That’s where I came across this recipe for Oatmeal Protein Pancakes over at Slender Kitchen.  I skimmed the recipe, decided I didn’t have (and probably never would have) the exact ingredients used, but knew I could come up with something that would work.  Now, I love me some pancakes, but they’re basically everything I’m not supposed to be eating now.  These use whole oatmeal, eggs, greek yogurt and no white flour or sugar.  I made them silver dollar sized and ate 4.  My boys ate 6 each.  I’m hooked and I hope you will be too.

The process is simple.  Put all the ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth.  Feel free to mix up the spices however you want.  Then, generously grease a non-stick skillet or griddle that is over low heat.  Pour batter onto greased griddle until pancakes are the size you want.  Smaller pancakes are easier to flip and these can stick.  When the batter is bubbly and dry around the edges, flip.

DSCN1809

They’ll be golden brown and fluffy.  I didn’t even use any syrup on mine (though, the boys did).

DSCN1812

Recipe:

1 cup old fashioned oatmel

1 5.3 ounce container greek yogurt

6 egg whites or 3 whole eggs

1 medium banana or 1/2 cup cooked sweet potato

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice

Place all ingredients in a blender and process until smooth.  Heat a non-stick skillet or griddle over low heat. When surface is hot, grease liberally.

Pour out a small amount (2-3 tablespoons) of batter onto skillet.  Cook until bubbly and dry around the edges.  Flip and cook until golden brown.  Serve warm with butter and maple syrup if desired.

Leave a Reply

