Skillet Sweet Potatoes

When I logged in today, I realized that my last recipe was chicken noodle soup.  It is insanely appropriate that I posted the classic feel-better recipe last Monday morning, because that afternoon, the cold hit my house hard.  And not just any cold.  I’ve dubbed this the death cold of 2015.  Even a week later my head is stuffy and pounding and there is a noticeable ringing in my ears.  I’ve been slipping chile into everything my family eats lately just to be sure that we kill this monster germ DEAD.  I’m glad to say that I’m feeling well enough to be sitting in front of the computer screen today and can therefore share this super-simple sweet potato recipe.

Start by peeling two medium sized sweet potatoes.  Then, slice them into 1/4″ thick rounds.  You’re going to want to use a sharp knife and be careful during this step.  Sweet potatoes are much harder than other potatoes and these do not taste as good with a side of finger. Just sayin’.

DSCN1706

Now, heat a tablespoon of butter in a non-stick skillet over medium-low heat.  When the butter is melted and starts to bubble, layer your sweet potatoes across the bottom.  I like to separate them and lay them in a layer at a time.  Season with salt, pepper, chile powder and onion powder between each layer. The picture only shows one layer, but I keep layering until I am out of potatoes.

DSCN1708

When you have all the potato slices layered in the pan, cover wit ha tight fitting lid and cook for 10-15 minutes.  I actually don’t have a lid for my non-stick skillet, but my pizza pan is a perfect fit and comes in handy for the next step.  I do not have photographs of the flipping step, and it can be a little intimidating.  Don’t fear, you can just use a spatula to flip these over a section at a time.  They won’t be quite as pretty, but they will taste just as good.  If you’re feeling adventurous, give this a try.  Take a flat tray (I use my pizza pan) that is large enough to completely cover the top of your skillet.  Use hot pads or oven mitts or other heat-protective gear to grab the skillet and the tray together.  Hold the tray and skillet tightly together and invert.  The potatoes will fall onto the tray.  Remove the skillet from the top and place it back on the heat.  Slide the potatoes off the tray and back into the skillet so that the cooked side is facing up.  Cook over low heat until the bottom is golden brown.  I’ve served this in slices before or just a scoop.  The top and bottom will be a beautiful golden brown and the inside will be soft and creamy.  You can see where the potatoes with direct skillet contact are caramelized and the inside ones are more pale.

DSCN1715

Recipe:

2 medium sweet potatoes

1 Tablespoon butter

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon black pepper

1/2 teaspoon onion powder

1/4 teaspoon chile powder

Peel sweet potatoes and slice into 1/4″ rounds.

Heat oil in a large non-stick skillet over low heat.  Layer sweet-potatoes into hot oil. Season between each layer.  Cover and cook for 10-15 minutes.

Place a tray or board over the top of the skillet.  Hold skillet and tray together tightly and flip.  Remove skillet and place back over low heat.  Slide potatoes, now cooked side up, back into the skillet.  Continue cooking until bottom in golden brown and all potatoes are tender.

Leave a Reply

